100wc W39 Grace

The Incan statue
I pushed the the overgrown plants away with my machete then looked ahead.  I could just about see it, the solid gold Incan statue. The jewels embroidered on it were exquisite colours that shone like the sun. I ran toward it avoiding the traps, however when I arrived it seemed to have gone further away. When I finally reached it the elephant delivered a speech! “Do not touch me or you will be cursed, take me and expect the worst.”

One thought on “100wc W39 Grace

  1. Haigh Grace,
    Well done on a highly descriptive piece, real Indiana Jones or Lara Croft vibe here.
    A mixture of mystery and adventure, treasure, traps and curses. Your piece had some lovely touches, ie. the running towards the statue and yet it seemed further away and then finally to receive a warning,( great use of the prompt here), from the elephant that the statue was cursed and that to take would mean “to expect the worst”, and this is where you left the reader, wanting to know what happened with the curse, great cliffhanger!
    Well done Grace!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *