100wc Week 37 Ríona

The Spring-clean!

My family and I were doing a spring-clean. “Emily, can you start going through the boxes from the attic” Mom said, “Ok” I replied, I went through a few boxes. Then I came to a box that said “Dad’s stuff, 1977” I opened it there was an interment which looked like a guitar. “Dad” I shouted, “Yes, Emily” Dad answered “Please, come here” I said when he was coming up the stairs. “What is this, Dad” “That’s a viola, it was your Granddad’s” Dad said “It’s ancient” I searched some more “I thought that box was lost” Dad said “It was like gold to your granddad that viola”…

2 thoughts on “100wc Week 37 Ríona

  1. Haigh Ríona,
    How appropriate is your inspiration for your 100WC, we are all doing a bit of extra tidying, cleaning and going through boxes finding forgotten treasured items or old photographs.
    I loved that you wrote in dialogue form, the reader was discovering things along with Emily and we could see the lovely father and daughter relationship through the chat they were having in your story and it certainly seems to me like dad has many more stories to tell Emily about her grandad’s viola and heaven knows what else they will find.
    A really lovely feel good story Ríona and finally well done for managing to put in all those speech marks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *