100wc W35 Finn Ó hI

The Very Cold Dog

 

Myself my family and my dog went for a nice walk down by the river Liffey.  The river was freezing cold.  I asked my mam if I could hold the dog’s lead for a while so we could run ahead.  It was wet and slippy and my poor dog kept slipping and sliding.  At one point she slipped into the river.  She was crying and scared so I jumped into the river to save her.  We rushed to the vet afterward and the vet set she had hypothermia and she was lucky I got her when I did.  A week later she was home with us just in time for her birthday so it all worked out well.

2 thoughts on “100wc W35 Finn Ó hI

  1. Haigh Finn,
    Well done on a lovely 100WC, I am so glad there was a happy ending for both you and the dog. Your story just goes to show how things can turn very quickly from an enjoyable day out, running along a river with your dog, to a dangerous occurrence and you described this very well in your piece, with the slipping, the sliding, the crying and being scared and finally the danger of hypothermia.
    I loved the detail at the end of your story when you said the dog was home from the vets just in time for their birthday, double celebrations all round!
    Well done Finn and keep writing.

  2. Well told Finn! Excellent use of adjectives to relate the story so that the reader can easily visualise the events.

    You’re such a hero saving your dog, I love the happy ending!

    Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *