100wc W33 – Grace

The Mirror World

If you like stories that end happily then this is not the story for you. Even I wouldn’t wish this fate on my worst enemy. Andy and his older sister Trish were an ordinary family. Except they had no family because their father had died a year ago and they never knew their mother. The basement which they lived in had but one tiny window and a mirror with a missing piece. One day Andy unfortunately found that missing piece. The reason that mirror had a missing piece was no accident. The second that he put the piece of glass into its place he and Trish were sucked into it. As they pulled themselves up they looked around and saw that they were in a room full of mirrors. It seemed as though it stretched over the length of the savanna. When they looked closer their reflections faded and they saw another child in the mirror. A different child in each mirror. Trish looked closely at one girl and the girl whispered, ‘‘Run.”  “ Run”, they all screamed. “ Andy”, said Trish very distressed,” I think we should go.” As the two siblings ran for their lives something was chasing them. The children from the mirrors had a terrified look in their eyes. Their screams echoed through the night, “ Run.”

3 thoughts on “100wc W33 – Grace

  1. Haigh Grace,
    Oh my when I read your opening line I wondered should I read on as I am a sucker for happy endings but I did read on, I took it as a challenge.
    Well done on the great way you set the scene for your story creating a sense of pity for your characters in the way you described their living conditions and background, the reader was fully on their side even before the action in story took off.
    You showed great imagination in using the remaining piece of the broken mirror as a key to unlock the Mirror World and what a great description you wrote of Mirror World, I could easily picture the scene in my mind, with all the details you provided.
    Finally,I really don’t think I’m going to get my happy ending this time, am I Grace?
    Keep up the fantastic imaginative writing.

  2. Such an imaginative story Grace? The opening gripiping line makes the reader want to read on, a key element to any storyline!

    Your use of imagery really stood out in this piece and the use of the prompt us excellent. The use of the horror towards the end was a great touch, you managed to do exactly what you said in the first line; a not so happy ending!

    Fabulous imagination….keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *